Seaton and Whimple collect trophies at Tolchard Devon Cricket League awards night

Whimple won the D Division East 2nd XI competition and sent Henry Gordon-Lennox along to receive the

Whimple won the D Division East 2nd XI competition and sent Henry Gordon-Lennox along to receive the trophy from league president Graham Shears - Credit: Archant

Seaton and Whimple picked up awards at the Tolchards Devon League annual meeting and awards night, writes Conrad Sutcliffe.

Seaton 1st XI captain Ben Morgan collected the C Division East champion’s trophy.

Whimple’s Henry Gordon-Lennox accepted the D Division East 2nd XI winner’s trophy on behalf of the team.

Ottery St Mary were named club of the year in the B Division. Chairman John Tierney had to leave before the presentations were made.

Member clubs – all but two of them turned up at the Exeter Court Hotel for the meeting – had to plough through a dozen proposed rule changes.

You may also want to watch:

An earlier date for the league annual meeting was agreed so that memories of issues arising the previous season were fresher in the minds of club representatives.

Premier Division clubs now have to provide broadband access for scorers, or face a potential two-point penalty.

Most Read

One of the reasons for making on-line scoring compulsory was to expand use of the Duckworth-Lewis System.

Last season D-LS was only used to calculate targets for sides batting second in rain-affected games. From 2017 D-LS will be available to calculate projected totals for a side batting first that has been forced off early.

There was little enthusiasm for Whimple’s proposal to change the bonus point system to reward sides who bat first and win with five more points. Only two clubs voted in favour.

Declarations were finally scrapped in the Devon League, several years after a win-lose format replaced the old system of winning and losing draws.

Problems facing clubs lower down the league ladder, and clubs running second teams in the C Divisions and below, were addressed in a number of proposals.

Thirty-30 cricket got the thumbs down, but the use of artificial pitches to get games on was approved.

And for 2nd XI teams operating in the C Divisions and below, an informal loan system was agreed.

Clubs who have spare 2nd XI players will be able to loan them to other teams. Anyone who has played 1st XI cricket won’t be eligible.

“It is envisaged clubs in a particular area will get together and make arrangements among themselves,” said league chairman Stuart Munday.

Changes to the way points are awarded in forfeited games failed to attract a seconder.

Club of the year winners were: Sidmouth (Premier), Sandford (A Division) and Ottery St Mary (B Division).

Divisional winners: Premier (Sidmouth), A Division (Bradninch), B Division (Plymstock), C Division East (Seaton), C Division West (Abbotskerswell), D Division East (Clyst SG), D Division West (Shaldon Optimists).

2nd XI competition: Premier (Sidmouth), A Division (Torquay), B Division East (Braunton), B Division West (Abbotskerswell), C Division East (Exmouth), C Division West (Plympton), D Division East (Whimple), D Division West (Paignton), E Division West (Hatherleigh).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus