Seaton club titles for Don Yaxley and Pat Whitworth

PUBLISHED: 10:43 11 September 2018 | UPDATED: 10:43 11 September 2018

The new Seaton Bowls Club men's and ladies champions, Don Yaxley and Pat Whitworth. Picture CONTRIBUTED

The new Seaton Bowls Club men's and ladies champions, Don Yaxley and Pat Whitworth. Picture CONTRIBUTED


The Seaton Bowls Clubs Finals Weekend launched with the Friday night quarter-finals of the President’s Cup, writes Alan Nicholas.

In this trophy the club’s top four men and top four ladies meet and, on this occasion, it was the men who prevailed with wins for Terry Hurley-Smith, Phil Crichard, Roger Woolland and Don Yaxley over Linda Stone, Pat Whitworth, Lilian Hurley-Smith and Sue Dando respectively.

Saturday morning started with the final of the Harman Trophy, a four-wood singles competition open to ladies with a handicap of four or over and played to 21 shots or one hour’s duration.

Liz Wilde and Heather Hudson served up a tight match that finished after one hour of action with Heather taking the trophy with a 14-13 shot win.

At the same time on an adjoining rink the ladies’ three-wood singles final was played between Angie Mayhew and Pat Whitworth and it went the distance, requiring an extra end, which ended with Pat ultimately lifting the trophy after a 122-118 overall success.

The third match of Saturday morning was the men’s handicap final, played to 21 shots, which resulted in Don Yaxley defeating Terry Hurley-Smith 21-7.

The final match of the morning was the ladies’ pairs and this resulted in Gill Sykes and Carol Armitage defeating Lisa Tyne and Sue Dando 16-9 to lift the Iris Aymes Trophy, which is a 3 wood drawn pairs competition to 15 ends.

The first match of the midday session was the men’s three-wood singles final and this saw club captain Roger Woolland defeating Richard Whitworth 110-70 after 15 ends.

Next up, in the final of the men’s George Fossett Cup, a four-wood singles competition open to men with a four handicap or over, played to 21 shots or one hour duration, it ended in a 14-11 win for Kevin MCarthy against Glen Elliott.

On an adjacent rink, Terry Hurley-Smith defeated Phil Critchard in a President’s Cup semi-final, winning 21-8. Next up was the open mixed triples final, which saw Ron Bragg, Gill Sykes and Linda Stone defeat Ian Manchester, Peter Grigg and Maria Johnson 16-14.

At the same time, the second semi-final of the President’s Cup saw Roger Woolland defeat Don Yaxley 21-16. The final Saturday action was the ladies’ invitational mixed pairs in which Lillian and Terry Hurley-Smith defeated Lin Allison and Phil Crichard, 22-9.

Sunday’s play opened with the final of the President’s Cup, and it resulted in a 21-13 win for Terry Hurley-Smith over Roger Wooland.

The ladies’ handicap, played to 21 shots, saw Chris Barradell pick up three shots on each of the last two ends to defeat Lilian Hurley-Smith, 21-15.

The men’s two-wood singles final saw Peter Barradell edged out Phil Crichard.

The ladies’ drawn pairs, played to 21 ends, proved to be a long drawn-out match closely contested between two past club captains and their partners.

At 18 ends the match was all-square, with both pairs on 16 shots.

On the 21st end the match was still level, but, on the extra end, Pat Whitworth took the jack back to claim the win for herself and her partner, Liz Wilde, leaving Maria Johnson and Sue Banwell-Moore as the beaten finalists.

In the open three-wood singles, played to 110 points or 18 ends, Peter Barradell enjoyed a 112-56 win over Kevin McCarthy.

Marian Vessey faced Esdre Keller in the ladies’ two-wood singles final over 21 ends after which Esdre was acclaimed winner thanks to a 15-9 score line.

After lunch, Chris Barradell played a terrific final wood to defeat Peter Grigg to win the Jubilee Cup, a four-wood match played to 21 shots.

The Ray Jeffries Trophy, played over 15 ends, is a men’s pairs format and this year it was won by Phil Crichard and Colin Mustoo against Matt Tyne and Dennis Ridd with just one shot between the pairs at the end, 14-13. The weekend came to a close with the playing of the two club championship singles.

The ladies’ match was contested by Pat Whitworth and Lilian Hurley-Smith, with Pat taking the match 21-4.

In the men’s meeting, Don Yaxley started strongly and raced into a lead that proved too much for Roger Woolland and so Don took the honours and the title of club champion with a 21-7 success.

See a picture with this report at

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald