Seaton club titles for Whitworth and Hurley-Smith


Bowls - Credit: Archant

It was unfortunate that Seaton’s Over 60s A team lost their last match of the season to Topsham B, going down 34-32 with the best rink for Seaton being the one of P Newton, R Rowley and Don Yaxley, writes Maria Johnson.

The club Finals Weekend, played over three days, was wonderfully supported by club members.

In terms of who won what the winner of the Seaton Bowls Club ladies championship for the second year running was Pat Whitworth and the men’s top honour was claimed by Terry Hurley-Smith.

The ladies handicap winner was Linda Stone and the winner of the men’s handicap was Roger Woolland.

Pat Whitworth also picked up the ladies 3-wood title while the men’s 3-wood top honour went to Don Yaxley.

You may also want to watch:

Les Tooze won the Captain’s Cup and Di Morley won the ladies 2-wood competition.

Ken Shean won the men’s two-wood and the Presidents Cup was won by Jeremy Allison.

Most Read

The Saward Cup was won by Marian Vessey, the Jubilee Cup by Mike Clarke and the Harmon Trophy by Ruby Grigg.

John Bellamy lifted the George Fosset trophy and the winners of the men’s pairs competition were Mike Clarke and Roger Woolland.

The ladies’ invitation pairs was won by Lilian and Terry Hurley-Smith, the Iris Amyes ladies’ drawn pairs were Di Morley and Hilary Hillier.

The Ray Jeffrey men’s drawn pair’s winners were Colin Lynch and Graham Thomas. Congratulations, to all the winners. It’s certainly been a wonderful outdoor season at Seaton and many thanks are due to Pat Whitworth who captained for a second year and did it so well. The club salutes Pat for all her hard work.

Maria Johnson

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus