Sherborne stars at Axminster Bowls Club Finals

PUBLISHED: 10:57 09 September 2014 | UPDATED: 10:57 09 September 2014

Axminster bowlers have had a busy time as the outdoor season comes to its conclusion, writes David Harris.

The Over-60s mens’ team started the latest period badly with a defeat at Chardstock in the Devon League (16-55) on a somewhat damp green, but came back well to beat Starcross at home in the same competition (61-30) with wins for Howard Keep, David Harris, and Doug Looskan (30-9) and Tony Cable, Les Clark, and Sid Milburn (31-21). The home rink of Howard Keep, AN Other, and Doug Looskan, have managed to win every rink played throughout the season so credit must go to them!

The Ladies lost their friendly match at Seaton (34-63), but captain Ann Clayton was pleased with the way they performed in what was only their second game of the season. Margaret Stancliffe, Joan Quick, and Liz Earl did well to tie their rink (16-16).

In the only mixed friendly played Axminster lost at Feniton (56-87) in a game thoroughly enjoyed by all with the best rink being Les Clark, Ken Quick, Derek Pheby, and Ann Clayton who lost by just two shots!

Last weekend the Club Finals were held.

The Ladies Singles(4-wood) was won by Joan Quick with Margaret Crompton the runner-up whilst the men’s singles champion (4-wood) is Bob Sherborne after he defeated John Hill in the final. The winner of the ladies’s singles (2-wood) was Anny Clayton with Margaret Crompton again the runner-up.

In the men’s singles (2-wood Steven Apsey took the honours with Brian Clark the runner-up.

The Ladies ‘101’ was won by Ann Clayton with Joan Quick the runner-up, and the men’s ‘101’ as claimed by Bob Sherborne with Doug Looskan the runner-up.

Bob Sherborne also landed victory in the Open Singles in which Joan Quick took the runners-up spot.

The Ladies’ pair’s (4-wood) was won by the pairing of Barbara Mowatt and Margaret Crompton with the duo of Ann Clayton and Brenda Raistrick the runners-up.

In the men’s pair’s (4-wood) the winners were David Harris and John Hill with the runners-up being Doug Looskan and Derek Pheby.

In the mixed pairs (4-wood) the winners were Joan Quick and Brian Cursley, with Margaret Crompton and John Hill the runners-up.

The mixed pair’s (3-wood) title was won by Ann Clayton and David Harris with Liz Earl and Howard Keep the runners-up. Howard Keep won the Non-winners cup with Brian Cursley the runner-up.

The Umbrella competition which was played for during the season was this year secured by David Harris with Brian Clark the runner-up. The Triples competition, another season-long event, was won by Brenda Edwards with David Harris the runner-up and the season-long Monday Evening Triples League was won by the team skipped by Bob Sherborne.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Midweek Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Midweek Herald