Winkleigh pairings contest final and club walks off with the Terry Trott trophy.

Cloakham Lawns Annual two pair/ fours competition winners Bob Weafer and John Horsham, chairman of t

Cloakham Lawns Annual two pair/ fours competition winners Bob Weafer and John Horsham, chairman of the East Devon League David Haylor, runners-up Lorraine Axtell and Graham James. - Credit: Archant

Cloakham Lawns played host to the Annual Two pair/Fours competition that sees the winning team walk off with the Terry Trott trophy.

Once again the event, sponsored by Breakaway Leisure Holidays, proved to be a roaring success.

The initial stages were played as a round-robin in which pairs of players from East Devon and surrounding areas were drawn at random to play in groups of four against each other.

After lunch there was a play-off to reduce the numbers from 48 pairs to 32.

Thereafter it was straight knock-out play.

You may also want to watch:

In the last eight Beer’s Unbowlievers of Evan and Bev Williams edged out the Ottery St Mary pairing of Anne Bennett and Margaret Chant.

Awliscombe’s Beach Boys of Lee Toleman and Brian Marshall contested a topsy-turvy match that ended with their Winkleigh opponents, Pinky and Perky, comprising of Lorraine Axtell and Graham James easing their way into the last four.

Most Read

Upottery duo David Haylor and Robert Bartlett playing as the City Farmers saw off Bow pairing Maurice Kibby and Partner and in the final quarter final meeting Nomad’s Young Ones (Sue Cockerham and Ray Young) were narrowly beaten by the Winkleigh pairing of John Horsham and Bob Weafer playing as the Blue Bros.

The two Winkleigh teams won the semi-finals and, in the final it was Blue Bros who emerged victorious.

During the day all points from each team are added to together and Winkliegh had the most points so they won the Terry Trott Shield.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus