Wiscombe Park ready for new season

Martyn Pike, a previous champion at Wiscombe Park, always gives his all with the Ford Escort.

Martyn Pike, a previous champion at Wiscombe Park, always gives his all with the Ford Escort. - Credit: Archant

Two days of action kicks off the new season at the Woolbridge Motor Club organised Wiscombe Park speed hill climb this weekend with an over-subscribed entry list promising a number of close battles throughout the classes and of course for the coveted award of Fastest Time of the Day, writes Geoffrey Pickett

There are a number of contenders for the outright win with contenders coming from the top three single-seater racing car classes in cars with engines ranging from 1600 c.c. through to 3000 c.c.

Otttery St Mary driver Ed Hollier will be one of those expected to be in battle for overall honours in his Pilbeam MP62. In past seasons Hollier has defeated larger capacity cars and he will be looking to replicate such form with a mount which should benefit from further developments engineered by Ed’s father Bob. The two litre Ralt RT33/34 of father and son combination Roy and Dave Sims would also hope to be in the mix. Dave, from Newton Abbot, having taken victory at the Manor Farm Charmouth meeting last September. Pilbeam MP58 pilot Paul Crute will be seeking his win at Wiscombe with his three litre Pilbeam MP58.

The Road-Going Series Production classes will see nearly fifty drivers in action across four capacity divisions. In the over 2000 c.c. split Exeter garage proprietor Steve Clarke (Subaru Impreza) will face up against the Mitsubishi Evos of Simon Neve and and Tom Reeves, but the extent of the competition will see machinery such as BMW M3sAudi Quattros vying for success.

The Road-Going Specialist Production class will see two Exeter drivers face up to the challenge of Stuart Taylor R1 driver and current Bridge Tyres and Wheels Wiscombe Park champion Phil Pearn. Ian Hodgson will campaign his familiar Westfield SEiW whilst Roger Coote will conduct his curvaceous Ginetta G4.

You may also want to watch:

The Modified Series Production car divisions will see local drivers dealing with some stern opposition. In the up to 1400 c.c. category Kenton’s Adrian Langley takes his Austin Mini up against the rapid Ford Fiesta of Mark Shillaber whilst in the 1400 c.c. to 1800 c.c. class Martyn Pike from Feniton returns to the sport with his effective Ford Escort. Going up the capacity order to the over 2600 c.c. class Crediton’s Den Conibear will be at the wheel of his fleet and nimble Nissan GTiR as he battles against other four wheel drive and turbocharged cars such as Ford Sierra XR 4X4 and Bob Mortimer’s Porsche 911.

Kevin Frost will also ‘fly the Crediton flag’ when he takes his KMD Sports up against the Radical SR4 of Clive Wooster and Derek Harris’s Mallock.

Most Read

A full programme of motor sport is spread across the two days sees a variety of machinery in action including a specialist class for Minis as well as Westfields, Morgans and Triumph TR.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus