UNITED KINGDOM

Monday, April 1, 2019

House prices in East Devon leapt by 4.3 per cent in January, seeing an overall 9.5 per cent rise over the last 12 months.

Sunday, March 31, 2019

More than £700,000 of overpaid housing benefits has been reclaimed from residents from East Devon in just seven months.

Read more
Saturday, March 30, 2019

There are 100 properties in East Devon owned by companies registered in offshore tax havens, which campaigners warn could be being exploited by criminals.

Read more
Thursday, March 28, 2019

Almost 1,000 new homes could be built on derelict or previously used land in East Devon, according to greenbelt campaigners

Read more
Thursday, March 28, 2019

Lyme twinners invited to join the crew on a voyage to France

Read more
Wednesday, March 27, 2019

Sidmouth's famous fatberg made a star appearance on the BBC's Blue Planet UK.

Read more
Wednesday, March 27, 2019

As of tomorrow, Sidmouth's giant fatberg will no longer be lurking beneath the town.

Read more
Tuesday, March 26, 2019

More than a third of cancer patients do not start treatment on time at the Royal Devon and Exeter Trust, figures have revealed.

Read more
Tuesday, March 26, 2019

Flu, vomiting, diarrhoea and gastroenteritis levels all dropped in Devon last week.

Read more
Monday, March 25, 2019

Devon and Cornwall Police close more than a fifth of hate crime investigations into racially and religiously aggravated offences without identifying a suspect, figures show.

Read more
Monday, March 25, 2019

Hundreds of written complaints were made to the Royal Devon and Exeter Trust last year.

Read more
Monday, March 25, 2019

Spending on street lights has been slashed by more than £100,000 over the past year, new figures have revealed.

Read more
Thursday, March 21, 2019

Summer storm brought death and destruction to the region

Read more
Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Youngsters encouraged to apply for Oxbridge places

Read more
Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Hundreds of children in Devon are not fully vaccinated against MMR, as the NHS warned vaccine deniers are gaining traction on social media.

Read more
Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Youngsters walk out to support the 'Friday 4 Future' movement - backed by their headteacher

Read more
Thursday, March 14, 2019

Air pollution causes four in every 100 deaths of people aged 30 and over in Devon, one of the lowest rates in England.

Read more
Thursday, March 14, 2019

Thriving, popular venues provide a range of entertainment and give local drama groups a place to perform

Read more
Thursday, March 14, 2019

One new victim of female genital mutilation (FGM) in Devon was seen by NHS services last year.

Read more
Wednesday, March 13, 2019

Wildlife haven is runner-up in best nature reserve category in BBC Countryfile Magazine's 2019 Awards

Read more
Friday, March 8, 2019

Shute-based drinks firm produces nation's favourite pink fizz

Read more
Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Would you like to see a 3D zebra crossing in your area?

Read more
Wednesday, March 6, 2019

An Ottery pupil who took a knife to school has been excluded, along with one other.

Read more
Tuesday, March 5, 2019

So, what happens to East Devon's small businesses after March 29? The short answer - unless something highly unlikely has happened since this edition went to press - is that no one knows.

Read more
Saturday, March 2, 2019

Award-winning drinks firm creates two new roles to help continue its expansion plans

Read more
Friday, March 1, 2019

Nearly 100 reports of online grooming has been made to Devon and Cornwall Police in a 18-month period.

Read more
Thursday, February 28, 2019

Firefighters are swapping fire for Fiats as they take part in a national charity car wash.

Read more
Friday, February 22, 2019

Pete's Dragons invites residents to a session at The Beehive

Read more
Wednesday, February 20, 2019

A motion to recognise the importance of climate change and support young people's calls for immediate action has been blocked by council bosses.

Read more
Saturday, February 16, 2019

Tools and Machinery company is now ranked alonsgide big retailers like Asda and ASOS

Read more
Thursday, February 14, 2019

Sidmouth's donkeys have left quarantine after the outbreak of equine flu in the UK.

Read more
Wednesday, February 13, 2019

VisitEngland reckons the East Devon visitor attraction is definitely being run along the right lines

Read more
Wednesday, January 30, 2019

County council says snow could disrupt journeys home from work

Read more
Wednesday, January 30, 2019

Honiton residents awoke to a blanket of snow this morning as the county was hit by a country-wide polar vortex overnight.

Read more
Wednesday, January 30, 2019

'Crucially a deal is also in Europe's strategic interests at a time of rising geopolitical tensions.'

Read more
Tuesday, January 29, 2019

Ruthless dealers are using vulnerable young people as couriers

Read more
Monday, January 28, 2019

Snow and ice is expected to hit Devon, as well as the rest of the UK, this week.

Read more
Saturday, January 26, 2019

People urged to support CLIC Sargent's World Cancer Day appeal

Read more
Monday, January 21, 2019

Dozens of jobs have been lost after a holiday park firm went into administration.

Read more
Monday, January 21, 2019

RNLI in exercise with Coastguards

Read more
Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Beth Wilkes stops off on her marathon trek around the British coastline

Read more
Tuesday, January 15, 2019

Residents using East Devon District Council (EDDC) to collect their bulky waste will be forced to cough up more money for the service this year.

Read more
Monday, January 14, 2019

Team plans to drive to the top of Norway in just 75 hours

Read more
Saturday, January 12, 2019

Residents using East Devon District Council (EDDC) to collect their bulky waste will be forced to cough up more money for the service this year.

Read more
Friday, January 11, 2019

A Honiton woman and two others have set themselves the ambitious task of training thousands of women in dementia awareness by 2020.

Read more
Friday, January 11, 2019

A rescue deal has been agreed for troubled airline Flybe by a consortium including Virgin Atlantic.

Read more
Thursday, January 10, 2019

Residents living in the South West are paying the second-highest charges in England for bulky waste collections, new figures have shown.

Read more
Wednesday, January 9, 2019

A Honiton care home is celebrating after receiving a glowing report from the UK's health watchdog.

Read more
Monday, January 7, 2019

People's Vote campaigners gather public opinion

Read more
Wednesday, December 19, 2018

Neglected and abused children in Devon are increasingly likely to be at risk of significant harm by the time social services reach them, figures show.

Read more

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 20°C

min temp: 13°C

Most Read News

Useful Links

Family notices
Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Submit a Story
Buy Photos
Competitions
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Midweek Herald e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Midweek Herald twice-weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy


Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists


Find planning applications