AXMINSTER

Saturday, July 4, 2020

Kilmington Primary School has pledged to fully reimburse parents who paid for their child to stay at an adventure centre only to have the trip cancelled because of Covid-19.

Friday, July 3, 2020

Axminster’s Charity Togs shop is open for business again – and welcoming donations, organisers stressed this week.

Read more
Monday, June 29, 2020

Here’s a look back at the golden age of rail travel.

Read more
Friday, June 26, 2020

News that pubs, restaurants and hairdressers across East Devon will be able to reopen on Saturday (July 4) has been welcomed in East Devon by Neil Parish MP.

Read more
Friday, June 26, 2020

Axminster Town Council is calling on people to help a local university student complete a study on the benefits of buses.

Read more
Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Police were called to a village near Axminster at around 7.30pm last night (Tuesday, June 23) following reports of a suspected armed person

Read more
Saturday, June 20, 2020

A major new book has been published detailing events during the past three centuries which helped to shape the way Axminster is today.

Read more
Thursday, June 18, 2020

More than a dozen sporting organisations across East Devon have received grants of up to £8,800 to help keep them afloat during the coronavirus crisis.

Read more
Tuesday, June 16, 2020

One of East Devon’s most popular summer shows will take place on-line this year.

Read more
Monday, June 15, 2020

A pair of cannons believed to have been used in the blockbuster movie Pirates of the Caribbean have been stolen from a farm at Dalwood.

Read more
Thursday, June 11, 2020

The Axe Valley Wildlife Park has been donated food to continue feeding its animals during lockdown.

Read more
Tuesday, June 9, 2020

Further tributes have been paid to Alderman Douglas Hull, ahead of his funeral at the end of the week.

Read more
Monday, June 8, 2020

Funding has been secured for a pedestrian crossing in busy Lyme Road at Axminster, close to St Mary’s RC Primary School.

Read more
Monday, June 8, 2020

A 16-year-old Axminster girl has won a place at the UK’s most prestigious performing arts school.

Read more
Saturday, June 6, 2020

A caring four-year-old girl has inspired an East Devon village to help feed the animals at Axe Valley Wildlife Park during the coronavirus lockdown.

Read more
Friday, June 5, 2020

An Axe Valley Academy student has raised more than £300 for the NHS by building birdboxes.

Read more
Wednesday, June 3, 2020

The funeral of Axminster’s longest serving councillor and three times Mayor Douglas Hull will take place on Friday, June 12.

Read more
Tuesday, June 2, 2020

On May 27, the Midweek Herald published a story in which publisher Duncan Williams claims to have secured backdated wages for staff of the former View From newspapers.

Read more
Friday, May 29, 2020

An East Devon author has hit the top ten of Amazon’s bestsellers with his latest conspiracy thriller.

Read more
Thursday, May 28, 2020

Police in the Axe Valley are warning motorists to beware of beauty spot thieves as lockdown eases.

Read more
Tuesday, May 26, 2020

A car is believed to have been deliberately set alight at Trinity Hill Nature Reserve near Axminster last night (Monday May 25).

Read more
Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Former Axminster mayor Douglas Hull, one of East Devon’s longest serving local councillors, died over the Bank Holiday weekend.

Read more
Tuesday, May 12, 2020

A fire involving two chemicals at a commercial property in Kilmington has been extinguished.

Read more
Tuesday, May 12, 2020

An Axminster woman has raised more than £1,000 for local mental health charity ARC by having her long hair cut short.

Read more
Tuesday, May 12, 2020

Anni Young will continue as mayor of Axminster for a further year.

Read more
Monday, May 11, 2020

Colourful scarecrows have been popping up all over Kilmington.

Read more
Monday, May 11, 2020

Axminster Community Emergency Response (ACER) team has received almost 1,000 helpline calls and delivered food to nearly 750 needy people since its launch in April.

Read more
Friday, May 8, 2020

An Axminster-based technology firm is helping children to continue their studies during the coronavirus lockdown.

Read more
Thursday, May 7, 2020

The chairman of East Devon District Council is urging people to stay at home to celebrate VE Day tomorrow (Friday May 8) - and toast the fallen.

Read more
Wednesday, May 6, 2020

An East Devon schoolgirl has set herself an animal art challenge to raise money for her favourite wildlife attraction.

Read more
Monday, May 4, 2020

A homeless man has been jailed for repeatedly raiding the café at Axminster railway station.

Read more
Sunday, May 3, 2020

Which authority ordered the controversial taping over of Axminster’s public seats remains unclear this weekend.

Read more
Saturday, May 2, 2020

Locked-down members of Axminster Photography Group took part in their annual Thirkettle Cup print competition from their own homes.

Read more
Friday, May 1, 2020

Don’t be proud and hungry! That’s the message from an Axminster charity which helps to feed needy people.

Read more
Thursday, April 30, 2020

A member of the medical team at Axminster surgery has dusted off her sewing machine to make scrubs for the NHS during her time in lockdown.

Read more
Wednesday, April 29, 2020

Police are rporting an increase in the amount of graffiti in and around the Axminster area.

Read more
Monday, April 27, 2020

Axminster Community Emergency Response (ACER) team’s fundraising appeal had passed the £2,000 mark by the weekend.

Read more
Sunday, April 26, 2020

A tractor was severely damaged in a blaze at Axminster on Friday evening (April 24) as firefighters battled to prevent leaking fuel contaminating local waterways.

Read more
Saturday, April 25, 2020

A butcher who is offering a home-delivery service across East Devon and West Dorset is donating 10 per cent of his on-line orders to the NHS.

Read more
Thursday, April 23, 2020

Axminster and Lyme Regis Cancer Support Group has adapted its services so it can continue to help people during the lockdown.

Read more
Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Caring staff and pupils at Axminster Community Primary Academy have been helping to keep local NHS workers in good spirits - and well fed.

Read more
Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Axminster Town Council is planning to hold its regular monthly meetings via Zoom conferencing during the lockdown.

Read more
Monday, April 20, 2020

Although this summer’s two-day Axe Vale Show has been cancelled because of cornavirus the organisers still need to recruit more helpers for next year.

Read more
Monday, April 20, 2020

Axminster-based mental health charity Arc is reporting a big increase in demand for its services during the coronavirus outbreak.

Read more
Friday, April 17, 2020

Special laundry bags to enable nurses and carers to safely wash their uniforms during the coronavirus outbreak are being created by teams of East Devon needlewomen.

Read more
Friday, April 17, 2020

A TV camera crew joined the congregation at St Giles Church, in Kilmington, to highlight its coronavirus measures.

Read more
Thursday, April 16, 2020

An Axminster based mental health charity is receiving a much needed cash boost thanks to a local woman’s sponsored head shave.

Read more
Thursday, April 16, 2020

The Axminster Community Emergency Response (ACER) team has launched a £5,000 fundraising appeal.

Read more
Wednesday, April 15, 2020

With more cases of coronavirus being reported in the Axminster area doctors are urging patients to use their online consultation service - eConsult.

Read more
Wednesday, April 15, 2020

A kookaburra, which escaped from the Axe Valley Wildlife Park and was spotted in communities across East Devon, has finally returned home.

Read more

Most Read News

Useful Links

Family notices
Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Submit a Story
Buy Photos
Competitions
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Midweek Herald e-edition E-edition


Find planning applications