AXMINSTER

Wed, 07:30

A meal which caught alight in a microwave oven at Axminster was extinguished by firefighters who plunged it into a bucket of water.

Tue, 07:01

Axminster's Community Waffle House has celebrated its first year of business by giving away all its profits to a fellow social enterprise group in the town.

Read more
Friday, January 17, 2020

Axminster Rotary Club has continued it support for Excellent Development, a charity which organises the construction of sand-dams in dry lands such as parts of Kenya.

Read more
Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Trinity House - Axminster's biggest town centre store which closed in November - has a new owner.

Read more
Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Two of Axminster's community champions have become joint winners of the town's Robin Cross Citizen of the Year award.

Read more
Monday, January 13, 2020

Created in Italy - now made by Robot's in Axminster - pizzas are the specialty dish at the latest restaurant to open in the town's 'food quarter'.

Read more
Sunday, January 12, 2020

Honiton Air Cadets is inviting local youngsters to join its ranks.

Read more
Tuesday, January 7, 2020

Members of the Millwey Rise Under 14's football team went along to Axminster Community Waffle House to thank them for sponsoring their new kit.

Read more
Tuesday, January 7, 2020

An eight-year-old Kilmington girl has had her long locks cut off to help children with cancer.

Read more
Sunday, January 5, 2020

Axminster's poll-topping district councillor has praised the town for its 'community spirit and social conscience'.

Read more
Saturday, January 4, 2020

Encouraging more people to attend town council meetings is one of Axminster mayor Anni Young's main aims for 2020.

Read more
Wednesday, January 1, 2020

A small East Devon village school is celebrating after receiving a boost to its fundraising efforts thanks to a local charity event.

Read more
Monday, December 30, 2019

More than 80 guests and volunteers enjoyed Axminster's fifth annual Christmas Day lunch at the Guildhall.

Read more
Friday, December 27, 2019

After a record 36 years service on East Devon District Council (EDDC) former Axminster mayor Douglas Hull has been made an Honorary Alderman.

Read more
Tuesday, December 24, 2019

District councillor Sara Jackson is urging people to work together to ensure Axminster's Masterplan - for up to 850 new homes and a relief road - is right for the town.

Read more
Monday, December 23, 2019

Despite the recent closure of several prominent town centre shops and banks Axminster is still 'very much alive'.

Read more
Friday, December 20, 2019

An East Devon firm which employs around 50 people across four towns has won national acclaim.

Read more
Monday, December 16, 2019

The Axminster Masterplan for up to 850 new homes and a long-awaited relief road hangs in the balance.

Read more
Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Voters in East Devon are being reminded to double check their poll cards to ensure that they visit the correct polling station at the General Election tomorrow (Thursday, December 12).

Read more
Monday, December 9, 2019

A teenage driver has been jailed for mowing down a pedestrian outside an Axminster pub and then torching his car to destroy the evidence.

Read more
Friday, December 6, 2019

Twenty-eight local organisations have received grants following this summer's record-breaking Axe Vale Show.

Read more
Thursday, December 5, 2019

East Devon District Council is to consider revising its plans to build up to 850 new homes as part of a massive urban extension on Axminster's eastern flank.

Read more
Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Axminster Freemasons presented cheques to local causes following their annual church service.

Read more
Friday, November 29, 2019

Two worthy causes have received donations of £200 from Axminster Rotary Club.

Read more
Thursday, November 28, 2019

For the third year running the FIT EWE CREW took part in a charity Zumbathon at The Guildhall in aid of FORCE and Axminster and Lyme cancer support.

Read more
Thursday, November 28, 2019

Gas providers have pledged to keep disruption 'to a minimum' during a two-month scheme to upgrade supply pipes in Axminster town centre.

Read more
Wednesday, November 27, 2019

Children from Musbury Primary School collected acorns and planted them in pots during their weekly forest school session.

Read more
Monday, November 25, 2019

Rail travellers in East Devon are facing more disruption with 27 days of strike action planned next month.

Read more
Sunday, November 24, 2019

The head engineer at Axminster's biggest employer has received national recognition for his work.

Read more
Saturday, November 23, 2019

You better watch out!

Read more
Wednesday, November 20, 2019

A warm welcome is awaiting newcomers to Axminster.

Read more
Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Following the closure of Axminster's biggest town centre store, some 40 traders have joined forces to launch a pre-Christmas 'shop local' initiative.

Read more
Saturday, November 16, 2019

Nominations are being invited to find Axminster's next Citizen of the Year.

Read more
Friday, November 15, 2019

Youngsters across East Devon dressed up to raise funds for Children in Need on Friday (November 15).

Read more
Friday, November 15, 2019

Increases in membership and extra swimming lessons contributed to another 'solid year' for Axminster's Flamingo Pool.

Read more
Wednesday, November 13, 2019

With Christmas fast approaching, a group of Axminster women joined a series of festive flower arranging workshops at Combe St Nicholas Village Hall.

Read more
Wednesday, November 13, 2019

Axminster Lions Club members will be out and about with their Santa float in the run up to Christmas again this year.

Read more
Monday, November 11, 2019

More than 200 children took part in the annual Act of Remembrance at Axminster today (Monday, November 11).

Read more
Monday, November 4, 2019

Highways chiefs have come under fire for taking a year to fix a broken pavement where a 67-year-old Axminster man fell and suffered severe injuries

Read more
Sunday, November 3, 2019

Dozens of colourful home-made blankets - destined to comfort needy children overseas - will go on show at Axminster's Minster Church next week.

Read more
Saturday, November 2, 2019

A major rescue exercise involving Lyme Regis lifeboat and the Axe Vale Canoe Club has been hailed a success.

Read more
Friday, November 1, 2019

Axminster will turn out in force to remember the fallen at the annual Remembrance Day service on Sunday, November 10.

Read more
Wednesday, October 23, 2019

A group of local organisations with support from Light Up Axminster are hosting a free event at The Guildhall on Saturday, November 2, to showcase the area's volunteering opportunities.

Read more
Monday, October 21, 2019

Axminster Town Council has defended its decision to limit access to a town centre garden, claiming dog fouling was putting children's health at risk.

Read more
Sunday, October 20, 2019

Although the short term future of Axminster's adult mental health counselling service Arc has been secured, organisers say its survival depends on continued community support.

Read more
Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Axminster Town Council has organised an Environment Day on Saturday (October 19) at The Guildhall.

Read more
Monday, October 14, 2019

Pupils at Axminster Community Primary Academy were not lost for words when local Rotarians appeared at their morning assembly.

Read more
Monday, October 14, 2019

A man has died after an incident at a shooting range on the East Devon and West Dorset border.

Read more
Friday, October 11, 2019

Axminster twinners crossed The Channel to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the town's link with Douvres la Delivrande in Normandy.

Read more
Wednesday, October 9, 2019

Author, poet, shepherd and cider maker James Crowden - of TV and radio fame - will be speaking at Shute Apple Day on Sunday, October 20.

Read more

Local Weather

Rain

Rain

max temp: 8°C

min temp: 5°C

Most Read News

Useful Links

Family notices
Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Submit a Story
Buy Photos
Competitions
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Midweek Herald e-edition E-edition


Find planning applications