EAST DEVON

Yesterday, 14:00

A new travelling creative space has been launched, taking nature and culture on tour in East Devon.

Sunday, August 9, 2020

The Government’s £6million investment in East Devon schemes to help kickstart the economy has been welcomed.

Read more
Monday, August 3, 2020

The decision by East Devon councillors to recommend pulling out of the Greater Exeter Strategic Plan (GESP) has thrown the blueprint for future development into doubt.

Read more
Wednesday, July 15, 2020

A plea has been made to help the home-based businesses in East Devon rejected for funding support during the coronavirus crisis.

Read more
Friday, July 10, 2020

Following the relaxation of lockdown restrictions, 12 play areas across East Devon will be opening on Monday (July 13).

Read more
Monday, July 6, 2020

The ‘true’ number of cases of coronavirus in East Devon has been revealed.

Read more
Monday, July 6, 2020

A central government report issuing a ‘now do it’ plea over climate change will be used to help form East Devon District Council’s (EDDC) strategy.

Read more
Friday, July 3, 2020

Skate parks and multi-use games areas (MUGAs) across East Devon will be reopening from Monday (July 6).

Read more
Saturday, June 20, 2020

Skateparks and multi-use games areas (MUGA) in East Devon will remain closed, according to East Devon District Council (EDDC).

Read more
Thursday, June 4, 2020

After closing a popular East Devon park at the request of police, The district council is urging visitors to behave responsibly.

Read more
Wednesday, May 20, 2020

A new leader of East Devon District Council will be elected at an extraordinary full council meeting to be held on Thursday, May 28.

Read more
Friday, May 15, 2020

Eight district councillors have defected from the ruling Independent Group and have formed a new group which plans to take control of the authority.

Read more
Thursday, May 7, 2020

The opening hours for pharmacies in East Devon on bank holiday Friday (May 8) have been announced by NHS England.

Read more
Tuesday, April 21, 2020

A plea has been made for people to avoid lighting up sky lanterns as they show their support to key workers during the coronavirus crisis.

Read more
Tuesday, March 24, 2020

A new democratic alliance has been formed in East Devon, becoming the largest political group on the district council.

Read more
Thursday, February 13, 2020

Changes to public space protection orders (PSPO) across East Devon are the subject of a public consultation.

Read more
Wednesday, January 29, 2020

A Holocaust Memorial Day flag was raised at East Devon District Council (EDDC) HQ as a reminder of the six million Jews murdered during the genocide.

Read more
Monday, January 27, 2020

Fire crews from five East Devon stations were called out to help extinguish a major fire in Exeter on Saturday (January 25).

Read more
Sunday, January 26, 2020

Strict new rules around how drones can be used in East Devon have been outlined.

Read more
Thursday, January 23, 2020

Bus timetables across East Devon are set to be reviewed as part of proposed service changes by Stagecoach South West.

Read more
Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Residents are being warned to stay vigilant after an increase in reports of scam phone calls.

Read more
Thursday, December 19, 2019

Torrential downpours across East Devon this morning (Thursday, December 19) have left the region’s roads struggling to cope with standing water.

Read more
Thursday, December 12, 2019

Follow our live blog covering the General Election 2019 results at the East Devon and Tiverton and Honiton counts

Read more
Monday, December 2, 2019

Controversial plans to hike charges in some of East Devon’s busiest car parks have been officially shelved.

Read more
Saturday, November 9, 2019

Across east Devon, communities will be commemorating the fallen on November 10, Remembrance Sunday.

Read more
Monday, November 4, 2019

Departing MP Sir Hugo Swire has warned that voting for Claire Wright in the upcoming election ‘would not achieve anything’.

Read more
Saturday, November 2, 2019

Voters in East Devon are set to go to the polls in December – but how does the political landscape of the region look?

Read more
Wednesday, October 30, 2019

Homes and businesses could flood as heavy rain rolls into East Devon tonight (Wednesday, October 30)

Read more
Friday, October 25, 2019

Controversial plans to introduce a 20 per cent hike in car parking charges in East Devon have been sent back to district decision makers.

Read more
Friday, October 18, 2019

A senior position on East Devon District Council has been axed months after a former cabinet member was sacked from the position.

Read more
Tuesday, October 15, 2019

An extraordinary scrutiny meeting has been called to discuss controversial plans to increase car parking charges.

Read more
Sunday, October 13, 2019

More than 3,500 badgers were killed last year during control operations conducted in three areas which overlap East Devon.

Read more
Wednesday, October 9, 2019

A bid has been made to halt proposed parking tariff hikes by changing East Devon District Council’s constitution.

Read more
Tuesday, October 8, 2019

East Devon leader Ben Ingham said he will not be ‘stepping aside’ after a former cabinet member called for him to resign.

Read more
Monday, October 7, 2019

Writing for this title, district councillor Paul Millar speaks out on the latest parking proposals.

Read more
Thursday, October 3, 2019

Increases in charges for some of East Devon’s busiest car parks could be the ‘death knell’ for independent traders.

Read more
Friday, September 27, 2019

An ‘extraordinarily damaged’ drug user has been jailed after she bit two female police officers who were trying to prevent her from harming herself.

Read more
Thursday, September 19, 2019

A private hire license has been granted for a zero emission car for the first time in East Devon.

Read more
Friday, September 13, 2019

The East Devon Conservatives have begun the process of selecting who will replace Sir Hugo Swire as their candidate in the next general election.

Read more
Tuesday, July 30, 2019

Electric charging points look set to be installed in car parks across East Devon.

Read more
Sunday, July 28, 2019

The spillage of 100 dead chickens on the M5 is causing long delays for those trying to get in and out of East Devon.

Read more
Thursday, July 4, 2019

The future of William Hill betting shops across East Devon have been thrown into doubt after plans were announced to close 700 stores nationwide.

Read more
Thursday, May 23, 2019

The election of an independent councillor as its leader has marked the start of a new era for the district council.

Read more
Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Robot lawnmowers are being trialled in two East Devon towns as a way to trim the district council’s recruitment and operational costs.

Read more
Monday, April 29, 2019

East Devon dog owners have been asked to keep their pets under control when walking in countryside locations to avoid ‘horrific’ livestock attacks

Read more
Friday, April 26, 2019

Ian Thomas will fight the next election as an independent

Read more

Most Read News

Useful Links

Family notices
Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Submit a Story
Buy Photos
Competitions
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Midweek Herald e-edition E-edition


Find planning applications