HONITON

Wednesday, July 1, 2020

The trial of an Italian who is accused of murdering a woman at a farm near Honiton has been postponed because the coronavirus crisis has caused delays in obtaining expert reports.

Friday, June 26, 2020

News that pubs, restaurants and hairdressers across East Devon will be able to reopen on Saturday (July 4) has been welcomed in East Devon by Neil Parish MP.

Read more
Monday, June 22, 2020

Firefighters from across the region tackled a barn fire at Upottery at around 6am this morning (Monday June 22).

Read more
Sunday, June 21, 2020

Traders at Honiton’s Black Lion Court have given their shopping arcade a makeover.

Read more
Monday, June 8, 2020

A man has been jailed after police found nearly £40,000 of drugs cash hidden in a secret compartment in his van.

Read more
Sunday, June 7, 2020

A building supplies shop became the new home for seagull chicks when a nest was made on the roof.

Read more
Thursday, June 4, 2020

A Honiton-based photographer has joined an initiative which looks to raise money for the NHS by taking family portraits.

Read more
Tuesday, June 2, 2020

An East Devon youngster has been praised for his ‘unselfish help’ after donating food to Honiton’s King’s Centre Food Bank.

Read more
Monday, June 1, 2020

A military chef who spent 25 years in the Army has written about his experiences.

Read more
Wednesday, May 27, 2020

A 27-year-old Honitonman has died in hospital following a single-vehicle collision on the A30 in East Devon earlier this month.

Read more
Thursday, May 21, 2020

As the weeks of the coronavirus outbreak continue, so the residents of East Devon recognise the efforts of NHS workers with their artwork.

Read more
Wednesday, May 13, 2020

The Mayor of Honiton has rejected accusations made by Jason Hannay who resigned from the town council this week.

Read more
Friday, May 8, 2020

A plea has been made to qualifying Honiton residents to be part of a clinical trial which seeks to find the most effective treatment for coronavirus.

Read more
Saturday, May 2, 2020

A road traffic collision on the A30 near Honiton is being investigated after a car overturned.

Read more
Tuesday, April 28, 2020

A Honiton town councillor has made the ‘heart-breaking’ decision to step down from his position.

Read more
Friday, April 24, 2020

Despite the coronavirus lockdown Royal British Legion members in Honiton are determined to mark VE day next month.

Read more
Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Chemotherapy patients and nurses at Honiton Hospital have received a special delivery.

Read more
Saturday, March 28, 2020

Honiton and District Lions Club has been helping to fund local groups who are supporting people during the coronavirus outbreak.

Read more
Tuesday, March 24, 2020

A beloved Honiton farm shop will be closing its doors to the public for good next month.

Read more
Friday, March 13, 2020

Honiton Lions Club has donated one of its giant Easter eggs to support a local charity.

Read more
Thursday, March 12, 2020

FORCE cancer charity is coming to Honiton to collect donations for its shop.

Read more
Sunday, March 8, 2020

Honiton Carers Support Group enjoyed a trip to Somerset for Sunday lunch at the Langport Arms Hotel.

Read more
Friday, March 6, 2020

A pedestrian has died following a collision involving a Royal Mail goods vehicle on the Honiton-bound side of the A30.

Read more
Sunday, March 1, 2020

Honiton Camera Club’s latest exhibition is under way at Boston Tea Party, in the High Street.

Read more
Sunday, February 16, 2020

Members of Honiton Carers Support Group enjoyed a sleep and relaxation workshop at their meeting on Wednesday (February 12).

Read more
Monday, February 3, 2020

A Honiton woman with family links to the sinking of the Titanic and the Napoleonic Wars celebrated her 100th birthday on Saturday (February 1).

Read more
Sunday, January 26, 2020

Honiton Carers Support Group has heard about vital support for families who have lost a baby and subsidised funding for home improvements.

Read more
Saturday, January 25, 2020

More than 600 parking fines were dished out in Honiton last year.

Read more
Thursday, January 23, 2020

A plumber has been cleared of attacking his former partner at his farmhouse, near Honiton, but still faces jail for aiming a loaded and cocked crossbow at police.

Read more
Wednesday, January 22, 2020

A 26-year-old man appeared in court charged with the murder of Gittisham author Kate Bevan.

Read more
Tuesday, January 21, 2020

A crossbow-wielding Farway man was tasered by police after they were called to an East Devon farmhouse to investigate an allegation that he had attacked his partner.

Read more
Tuesday, January 21, 2020

A murder investigation has been launched following the discovery of a woman’s body in farm building in Gittisham.

Read more
Tuesday, January 21, 2020

A vehicle overturned on Farway Hill on Tuesday (January 21) causing slow traffic.

Read more
Monday, January 13, 2020

Honiton charity See The Future is planning to stage 20 events this year – to help promote the goal of 20/20 vision.

Read more
Sunday, January 12, 2020

Honiton Air Cadets is inviting local youngsters to join its ranks.

Read more
Saturday, January 11, 2020

A end-of-life nursing charity is offering people a chance to be strapped to the top wing of a vintage bi-plane and fly over the Blackdown Hills at 135mph.

Read more
Friday, January 10, 2020

Since launching its new season in September, Honiton Camera Club members have shared their summer images with critique evenings and two internal competitions.

Read more
Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Honiton Carers Support Group enjoyed an evening at the Beehive watching the film of Andre Rieu’s 70th birthday celebration.

Read more
Tuesday, December 31, 2019

Honiton Gymnastics Club coach and board director Helen Reddy has been awarded an OBE in the Queen’s New Year Honours list.

Read more
Saturday, December 28, 2019

Years of dedicated service to the community of Honiton have won Heather Penwarden a BEM in the New Year Honours.

Read more
Friday, December 27, 2019

A special rescue team from Exmouth and two fire engines were called out to rescue a motorist stuck in flood water.

Read more
Tuesday, December 24, 2019

Santa took time out from his busy schedule to draw the winning ticket in Honiton Carers’ Support Group’s Christmas hamper raffle.

Read more
Friday, December 20, 2019

An East Devon firm which employs around 50 people across four towns has won national acclaim.

Read more
Friday, December 13, 2019

Neil Parish comfortably retained his Tiverton and Honiton parliamentary seat in the general election, which saw gains across the country for his fellow Conservatives.

Read more
Wednesday, December 11, 2019

The real life story of a cow called Daisy is recounted in an East Devon woman’s first book.

Read more
Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Voters in East Devon are being reminded to double check their poll cards to ensure that they visit the correct polling station at the General Election tomorrow (Thursday, December 12).

Read more
Sunday, December 8, 2019

Members of the Honiton Carers Support Group were at the town’s Tesco store last week - fundraising and raising awareness of what they do.

Read more
Thursday, December 5, 2019

A four-foot tall cuddly toy bear is being raffled at Honiton to aid the FORCE cancer charity.

Read more
Thursday, December 5, 2019

Broadhembury’s residents, voluntary groups and other organisations are being asked for ideas on how to spend £3,450 on outdoor sports facilities in the parish.

Read more
Wednesday, December 4, 2019

A former Honiton man has been jailed for breaking into a newly arrived student’s room while she was out at a Freshers Week party.

Read more

Most Read News

Useful Links

Family notices
Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Submit a Story
Buy Photos
Competitions
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Midweek Herald e-edition E-edition


Find planning applications