HONITON

Yesterday, 11:58

Despite Covid-19 restrictions Honiton will remember the victims of war again this winter - albeit in more ‘low-key’ format.

Mon, 11:58

Honiton-based domiciliary care team, HC-One, has taken on a very unusual ‘client’ - a whippet called Tilly.

Read more
Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Honiton Carers Support Group enjoyed its first meeting since lockdown on Saturday (August 29).

Read more
Thursday, August 27, 2020

South Western Railway (SWR) has announced changes to its timetable, as the country continues to emerge from lockdown.

Read more
Wednesday, August 26, 2020

A visitor has been jailed for calling mourners at a wake at a Honiton pub ‘mud munchers’ and glassing a customer who asked him to leave.

Read more
Monday, August 10, 2020

The mayor of Honiton Town Council and a community group have clashed over the council’s effectiveness.

Read more
Tuesday, August 4, 2020

An Italian volunteer worker has denied murdering a veterinary pharmacist at a stud farm in East Devon.

Read more
Wednesday, July 29, 2020

A couple have been ordered to pay compensation to a pub customer who they dragged into the street and attacked.

Read more
Tuesday, July 28, 2020

A Honiton man has been cleared of historic sexual abuse charges in the first jury trial to be held at Exeter Crown Court since the Covid-19 emergency.

Read more
Sunday, July 26, 2020

A fallen tree has caused a main road between Honiton and Chard to be closed to traffic.

Read more
Saturday, July 25, 2020

1st Honiton Scouts enjoyed an awards evening with a difference as scouts were commended for their participation and attitude.

Read more
Saturday, July 25, 2020

Three vehicles have been involved in a road traffic collision in Honiton on Saturday (July 25).

Read more
Tuesday, July 14, 2020

A section of Honiton high street was cordoned off on Tuesday (July 14) after a device was handed in to the police station.

Read more
Wednesday, July 1, 2020

The trial of an Italian who is accused of murdering a woman at a farm near Honiton has been postponed because the coronavirus crisis has caused delays in obtaining expert reports.

Read more
Friday, June 26, 2020

News that pubs, restaurants and hairdressers across East Devon will be able to reopen on Saturday (July 4) has been welcomed in East Devon by Neil Parish MP.

Read more
Monday, June 22, 2020

Firefighters from across the region tackled a barn fire at Upottery at around 6am this morning (Monday June 22).

Read more
Sunday, June 21, 2020

Traders at Honiton’s Black Lion Court have given their shopping arcade a makeover.

Read more
Monday, June 8, 2020

A man has been jailed after police found nearly £40,000 of drugs cash hidden in a secret compartment in his van.

Read more
Sunday, June 7, 2020

A building supplies shop became the new home for seagull chicks when a nest was made on the roof.

Read more
Thursday, June 4, 2020

A Honiton-based photographer has joined an initiative which looks to raise money for the NHS by taking family portraits.

Read more
Tuesday, June 2, 2020

An East Devon youngster has been praised for his ‘unselfish help’ after donating food to Honiton’s King’s Centre Food Bank.

Read more
Monday, June 1, 2020

A military chef who spent 25 years in the Army has written about his experiences.

Read more
Wednesday, May 27, 2020

A 27-year-old Honitonman has died in hospital following a single-vehicle collision on the A30 in East Devon earlier this month.

Read more
Thursday, May 21, 2020

As the weeks of the coronavirus outbreak continue, so the residents of East Devon recognise the efforts of NHS workers with their artwork.

Read more
Wednesday, May 13, 2020

The Mayor of Honiton has rejected accusations made by Jason Hannay who resigned from the town council this week.

Read more
Friday, May 8, 2020

A plea has been made to qualifying Honiton residents to be part of a clinical trial which seeks to find the most effective treatment for coronavirus.

Read more
Saturday, May 2, 2020

A road traffic collision on the A30 near Honiton is being investigated after a car overturned.

Read more
Tuesday, April 28, 2020

A Honiton town councillor has made the ‘heart-breaking’ decision to step down from his position.

Read more
Friday, April 24, 2020

Despite the coronavirus lockdown Royal British Legion members in Honiton are determined to mark VE day next month.

Read more
Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Chemotherapy patients and nurses at Honiton Hospital have received a special delivery.

Read more
Saturday, March 28, 2020

Honiton and District Lions Club has been helping to fund local groups who are supporting people during the coronavirus outbreak.

Read more
Tuesday, March 24, 2020

A beloved Honiton farm shop will be closing its doors to the public for good next month.

Read more
Friday, March 13, 2020

Honiton Lions Club has donated one of its giant Easter eggs to support a local charity.

Read more
Thursday, March 12, 2020

FORCE cancer charity is coming to Honiton to collect donations for its shop.

Read more
Sunday, March 8, 2020

Honiton Carers Support Group enjoyed a trip to Somerset for Sunday lunch at the Langport Arms Hotel.

Read more
Friday, March 6, 2020

A pedestrian has died following a collision involving a Royal Mail goods vehicle on the Honiton-bound side of the A30.

Read more
Sunday, March 1, 2020

Honiton Camera Club’s latest exhibition is under way at Boston Tea Party, in the High Street.

Read more
Sunday, February 16, 2020

Members of Honiton Carers Support Group enjoyed a sleep and relaxation workshop at their meeting on Wednesday (February 12).

Read more
Monday, February 3, 2020

A Honiton woman with family links to the sinking of the Titanic and the Napoleonic Wars celebrated her 100th birthday on Saturday (February 1).

Read more
Sunday, January 26, 2020

Honiton Carers Support Group has heard about vital support for families who have lost a baby and subsidised funding for home improvements.

Read more
Saturday, January 25, 2020

More than 600 parking fines were dished out in Honiton last year.

Read more
Thursday, January 23, 2020

A plumber has been cleared of attacking his former partner at his farmhouse, near Honiton, but still faces jail for aiming a loaded and cocked crossbow at police.

Read more
Wednesday, January 22, 2020

A 26-year-old man appeared in court charged with the murder of Gittisham author Kate Bevan.

Read more
Tuesday, January 21, 2020

A crossbow-wielding Farway man was tasered by police after they were called to an East Devon farmhouse to investigate an allegation that he had attacked his partner.

Read more
Tuesday, January 21, 2020

A murder investigation has been launched following the discovery of a woman’s body in farm building in Gittisham.

Read more
Tuesday, January 21, 2020

A vehicle overturned on Farway Hill on Tuesday (January 21) causing slow traffic.

Read more
Monday, January 13, 2020

Honiton charity See The Future is planning to stage 20 events this year – to help promote the goal of 20/20 vision.

Read more
Sunday, January 12, 2020

Honiton Air Cadets is inviting local youngsters to join its ranks.

Read more
Saturday, January 11, 2020

A end-of-life nursing charity is offering people a chance to be strapped to the top wing of a vintage bi-plane and fly over the Blackdown Hills at 135mph.

Read more
Friday, January 10, 2020

Since launching its new season in September, Honiton Camera Club members have shared their summer images with critique evenings and two internal competitions.

Read more

Most Read News

Useful Links

Family notices
Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Submit a Story
Buy Photos
Competitions
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Midweek Herald e-edition E-edition


Find planning applications